What we stand for:

The Connecticut for Lieberman Party (CFL) rejects the fraud perpetrated on the members of this party and the citizens of Connecticut by Joe Lieberman when he used the creation of this party to get on the general election ballot in 2006. The CFL is an independent, anti-war, anti-corruption, pro-fiscal responsibility, pro-democracy party, that stands for individual liberties and real problem-solving in government. The CFL wants everyone to know that in the United States of America, voters are free to join any party they wish, and participate in the democratic process according to the laws of Connecticut and the United States.

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Joe Lieberman's Approval Hits All-Time Low

From a Public Policy Polling survey Jan. 4-5:
"81% of Democrats now disapprove of Lieberman's job performance with only 14% approving, and he's not real popular with Republicans who disapprove of him by a 48/39 margin or with independents who do so by a 61/32 spread either. It all adds up to a 25% approval rating with 67% of his constituents giving him bad marks."

We in the CFL like to think that the commercial starring CFL chair John Mertens that ran throughout Connecticut in December helped contribute to people's views of Joe Lieberman:

Details of the survey are here:

CFL Nominates John Mertens to run for U.S. Senate in 2010

John Mertens was nominated to run for U.S. Senate for the Connecticut for Lieberman Party in 2010 at the January 13, 2010 statewide party caucus (votes shown below).

John Daniel Mertens (West Hartford, CT)
52 votes

Peter Reed Anderson (Bozrah, CT)
2 votes

CFL Nominates John Kilian and Peter Votto to run for State Representative in 2010

The following CFL candidates were nominated to run for State Representative in 2010 at the January 13, 2010 statewide party caucus (votes shown below):

20th District:
John Kilian 23 votes
Average Joe (no plumbers) 1 vote

90th District:
Peter Votto 50 votes
Shoeless Joe 1 vote


ELECTION OF OFFICERS. The following officers of the party were elected by a 25-0 vote at the January 13, 2010 statewide party caucus:

Party Chair: John Mertens
Party Treasurer: Tomoyo Wakamatsu
Party Secretary: John Kilian
Two additional State Central Committee members:
Karen Erlandsson
Ann Marie Krupski
Parliamentarian: John Kilian